Powered By Carmody Data Systems, Inc.
Go to the home page.
View Benefits of Becoming a Member.
View Information for Board of Directors.
View Important Information.
View Committee Information.
View announcments.
View calendar of events.
View printable forms/documents.
Click here to sign-up and register for continuing education courses.
Register to Become a Member.

2015 Fall Board Meeting - Save the Date 


Please mark your calendars for the MSTA Fall Board Meeting on Saturday October 17, 2015 at the Deerfield Township Hall in Mt Pleasant. We will also be having the Second Annual MSTA Chili Cook Off and competition is already heating up for first place, lol. Coffee and networking will start at 9:00 and the day will end with a tour of the City of Mt. Pleasant Wastewater Treatment Plant.  We will be submitting a CSE request to the DEQ for 5 credits once the speakers are confirmed.


We thank the General Agency for hosting the Fall Meeting and congratulate them on their 100 year anniversary.


2016 Michigan On-site Wastewater Conference 



Please mark your calendar for January 12-14, 2016 (Tuesday – Thursday) for the 65th Annual Michigan On-Site Wastewater Conference.  The conference will be held once again at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing, MI.  The 2015 conference still brought in a good crowd.  These folks learned a lot rubbing shoulders with suppliers, regulators, colleagues, competitors, friends, and educators.  This is a GREAT educational opportunity offered at a time of year most onsite professionals are not as busy.  

Arrangements are being made for Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) accreditation of all the conference sessions to count toward continuing education credit hours required for MDEQ licensed septage haulers.                                                                                                                                                                

Vendor Booths are planning to be open Tuesday afternoon and through most the day Wednesday.  Please contact Dan Milan, onsite wastewater vice-chair and vendor coordinator at 800-756-4526, if you are interested in a booth this year.

Some of the topics discussed at the previous planning meetings for possible inclusion in the 2016 conference are:

-          MDEQ Topics (Tuesday Training)

-          National Association of Waste Technicians Septage Truck Training (Tuesday - Additional Fee)

-          Keynote Speaker Dr. Ted Loudon [Professor Emeritus - Michigan State University]

-          Power from Poop (Converting Septage & Grease to Electricity)

-          MDEQ Question & Answer Session

-          Successful Septage License Renewal Preparation and how to Ensure a Faster Turn-Around on Land and Vehicle License Applications

-          Excavation Safety

-          High Strength Waste (Parlor Waste)

-          Legislative Update on Septic Issues

-          Soils Class

-          Web Sites and Marketing

-          Maintaining your Private Well and Septic System

-          Septic System Basics (Septic 101)

-          Is Your Onsite System EPA Regulated?

-          E.coli Testing

-          Case Study - Designing Repairs for Small and Large Systems

-          Advanced treatment and management of advanced treatment systems

-          Solving Liquid Waste Disposal Issues from Small, Medium to LARGE!

-          Packed-bed filters (sand, gravel, peat, geotextile, foam, etc.)

-          Aerobic treatment (suspended growth and attached growth systems) units

-          Advanced dispersal methods (i.e. pressure-dosing, aggregate-less products, in-trench treatment techniques, etc.)

-          Panel Discussion to discuss the roles of the various professionals (regulator, contractor,A7 designer, O& M provider)
"The Politics of Onsite Wastewater Treatment" and "The Role of Private and Public Sectors in Onsite"

-          "Sewage Sniffing Dogs" that can be used to sniff out illicit sewage discharges

-          Higgins Lake Study (Nutrient Loading/Swimmers Itch)

-          Responsible Management Entity

-          MSTA & MOWRA Association Meetings.

-          MSTA Banquet.


-          Round Table Discussions (including):

1.       "Getting Paid Right Away" Credit Card Processing Considerations

2.       Proper Techniques for Solvent Welding Plastic Joints

3.       Is Your Onsite System EPA Regulated?

4.       Solving Liquid Waste Disposal Issues

5.       Septic System Basics (Septic 101)

6.       Advanced treatment and management of advanced treatment systems

7.       Many more TBA


The next wastewater conference-planning meeting is scheduled late summer. Please contact one of the MSTA planning committee members with suggestions of what you would like to see at the 2016 conference. Members include: Misty DeJonghe (Matt DeJonghe Septic Tank Service at 517-451-5055) Ralph Bailey (American Rentals at 517-719-6412) and Mark N. Scott (Scott’s Excavating at 989-275-5011).

It is the intent of these annual wastewater conferences organized as a joint venture by the Michigan Onsite Wastewater Recycling Association (MOWRA), the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) with the Michigan Environmental Health Association (MEHA), the Michigan Septic Tank Association (MSTA), the Michigan Water Environmental Association (MWEA) and Michigan State University to educate people involved in the on-site wastewater field.

So, if you want an educated approach to competing in your industry this is a great opportunity for you and your employees. There will be more on the conference in the winter newsletter. Hope to see each of you there!

Article submitted by:

Mark N. Scott (Member - Michigan Wastewater Conference Planning Committee)


Contractor Directory
Click Here to find highly skilled and trained MSTA Contractors in your area.
Click Here to view public service announcement videos

MDEQ Approved CSE Classes


Tollgate Center

General Agency Company

Michigan Truck Safety

Member username & password are CASE SENSITIVE

A special thank you to Scott Carmody and his crew for MSTA's awesome website and CSE tracking progam.

Please contact Chanin for member user name &/or password, mstasupport@charter.net or 989-808-8648

Calendar Of Events

2015-09-25 Fall Meeting RSVP Deadline

2015-10-17 Fall Board Meeting & Chili Cook Off, Mt Pleasant MI

2015-12-18 MOWC Registration Deadline

2016-01-12 to 2016-01-14 - 2016 MOWC

 Copyright, 2015 - MSTA All_Rights_Reserved.
VisitorsHome | Contact Info |